Teen Book Review: A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles DickensA Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

Set before and during the infamous and bloody French Revolution, this book is written by the legend who wrote A Christmas Carol and Great Expectations, Charles Dickens. It follows multiple story lines involving love, dramatics, war, and death. They all tie together towards the end in a brilliant finale with yet another character that will make this book forever go down on the bookshelf that will last throughout the ages.

In all honesty, I read this novel because of an English class assignment, but to my surprise, I found myself thoroughly enjoying it. It was a heart wrenching book that took you through a roller coaster of emotions. It had me falling head over heels for Sydney Carton and sobbing from the realistic depiction of the horrors that occurred in both the book and the French Revolution. The language was in a narration sort of form, though Dickens broke the fourth wall a good few times, with advanced vocabulary. Symbolism reoccurred throughout the novel and successfully boggled the minds of my entire Honors English II class in the best way possible. Dickens spends a good amount of time world and character building while hiding clues about the ending in ways you don’t notice until the ending is upon you. While the finale broke my heart and shattered my soul, I eventually came to terms and loved every word on the pages of A Tale of Two Cities. It changed my perspective on something I had learned about in history class and really puts you in the midst of the entire Revolution. In summation, it made me laugh at the wit, swoon for Mr. Carton, cry for the people, and hate the bloodshed, and it’s truly an eye opening and emotional book that should be on everyone’s TBR pile.

Written by Veeshva R.


Interested in writing a book review or a shelfie?  Contact the Teen Librarian for more information: lhilty@grayslake.info.

 

About Princess Leia

I am the Teen Services Librarian at the Grayslake Area Public Library.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.