Teen Book Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. MaasThrone of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Celaena Sardothein, aka Adarlan’s Assassin, is imprisoned in the slave camp Endovier. That is, until the Crown Prince protected by the Captain of the Royal Guard, Dorian and Chaol, comes with a proposition that would result in freedom after a few years in the King’s service. Celaena faces a potentially fatal competition, a ruthless and bloodthirsty king, an unknown killer, dark secrets about the castle and kingdom, and, possibly more frightening than all of the above, to Celaena, at least, unexpected friendship and possibly more at the glass castle.

I first heard about this book from my absolute favorite BookTuber, Piera Forde, who is absolutely obsessed with it. After reading Chapter 1, I completely understood her utter adoration. Celaena’s cold, tough, witty, and sarcastic exterior captivated me from the very first page. Written in third person limited with occasional chapters from other characters, Maas wrote the original version of this book on FictionPress at the age of 16, and I am so eternally grateful for her decision to publish it. It puts the readers through suspense and lets us form guesses about how the mystery is going to unravel, only to turn out in a brilliantly unexpected way. It goes through death and evil and some absolutely horrid things that makes you grateful you don’t live in a world like Erilea. I also really love the characters, especially our protagonist, Celaena. Even though she’s fatal and kick butt, she shows kindness, humor, worry, and even time-of-the-month symptoms. In addition, I love Dorian. He not only would be one of my best friends, but also proves that how you grew up doesn’t decide who you end up being. I could go on and on about this book, but I reckon I’d spoil the book by then. If you are going to only read one book this entire year, this is it!

Written by Veeshva R.


Interested in writing a book review or a shelfie? Contact the Teen Librarian for more information: lhilty@grayslake.info.

About Princess Leia

I am the Teen Services Librarian at the Grayslake Area Public Library.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.