Teen Book Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Six of Crows by Leigh BardugoSix of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

In this YA thriller, we follow the adventure of six juvenile delinquents: Kaz, Inej, Nina, Matthias, Jesper, and Wylan. In a word or two, this book was a heist novel. The book is in the same world as Bardugo’s Grisha trilogy, and we’re hitting the ground running. Grisha are people living as servants, or even slaves, to humans due to their abilities such as healing and moving items. These six teenagers band together, working together to find the maker of jurda parem (a drug which multiplies a Grisha’s powers, but kills them while doing so); however, the maker is at the most secure “jail” of sorts. Will they be able to complete their job and escape with the maker – and their lives?

This book is currently on many readers’ favorites shelf, and I’ve seen it everywhere on bookish sites. It was a fantastic book, but if I’m perfectly honest, I don’t think it was my favorite this year. It was most likely because it was the first book I read as I was coming out of my book slump. That isn’t to say that I don’t like it – I still absolutely adore it! I just didn’t enjoy it as much as other people seemed to have. That said, I did very much love the characters and the ships in the novel. Each character has such humourous banter with one another, and deep, heart wrenching backstories, but they all soldier on because of their strength. Kaz Brekker is the guy I want with me if I ever get kidnapped – he always has a plan, and even when he doesn’t, he’ll find some way to make things go how he wants it. He and Inej together make a formidable pair, not to mention an absolutely perfect one. Nina’s unapologetic and unbashful personality was hilarious to read, especially when paired with Matthias’s more conservative one. Jesper and Wylan’s whole relationship was my favorite out of the entire book. Overall, it was a fun read, and recommended to anyone who loves a good adventure. And remember – “No mourners, no funerals.”(Bardugo).

Written by Veeshva R.


Interested in writing a book review or a shelfie? Contact the Teen Librarian for more information: lhilty@grayslake.info.

About Princess Leia

I am the Teen Services Librarian at the Grayslake Area Public Library.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.